Dietary Choices

We have two simple goals around dietary and free-from menus.

The first is to make catering for guests with specific dietary requirements as simple as possible. Our second goal is to provide good, varied options for those guests rather than have them settle for the only option on offer.

The four categories below are our main dietary sections. Please note that many of our platters which contain meat options will also contain vegetarian choices as standard.

Gluten Free (coeliac)

Guests who have an allergy to gluten will often choose a gluten-free diet. This specifically excludes the protein gluten, which is found in grains such as wheat, barley and rye and can cause inflammation in the small intestines of people with coeliac disease.

You'll find approximately 1 in 12 guests to have a gluten allergy (some may not yet know!) and so our recommended choice is the Gluten Free Lunch Box which provides a self-contained full gluten free lunch specifically for your coeliac guests.

 

Vegan

Veganism is a diet and often a lifestyle that excludes all animal-derived ingredients. Many vegans also do not eat foods that are processed using animal products, such as refined white sugar and some wines.

 

Vegetarian

Vegetarians are people who typically do not eat meat or seafood. There are several types of vegetarian, however the most common tend to be Lacto-Ovo Vegetarian (no meat, but will eat dairy or eggs) and Ovo-Vegetarian (no meat or eggs, but will eat dairy products).

Avoid making the common mistake of assuming something sweet like a cake is vegetarian. Many sweet products contain gelatine, which is an animal product and technically against the majority of vegetarian diets. All of our vegetarian products are labelled as such.

 

Halal

In Arabic, the word halal literally means permissible and translated it is usually described as meaning 'lawful'. People who follow Halal diets are usually doing so under Islamic dietary guidelines which state certain foods which are allowed (Halal) and other foods which are forbidden (Haram). Forbidden foods include Pork, (sometimes) Shellfish, Alcohol and animals that are not slaughtered by Halal guidelines.

All of our platters that contain meat and marked as being Halal only contain meat from accredited Halal suppliers. Currently, we only use Halal Chicken as standard across our entire catering menu.